30-minute unpaid meal break for shifts exceeding 5 hours. North Carolina These occupational employment and wage estimates are calculated with data collected from employers in all industry sectors in metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas in North Carolina. The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets the “floor” minimum wage for eligible workers in the U.S. For example, an employer cannot reduce an employee’s compensation or commission … § 95-25.1, et seq., is an important source of workplace protection. North Carolina Wage and Hour Act. The 2020 North Carolina Wage and Hour Peel ‘N Post includes revised text pertaining to two topics: Overtime – The N.C. Department of Labor (NCDOL) requires the posted Wage and Hour notice to specifically state that “Time and one-half must be paid to all employees after 40 hours of work in any one workweek with some exceptions. Labor Standards Bureau. Wage and Hour Act Minimum Wage: $7.25 per hour (effective 7/24/09). Minimum Wage: $7.25 per hour ($2.13 per hour for tipped employees, as long as wages and tips add up to the hourly minimum wage). Under the Act, an employee must be paid at least the state minimum wage of $7.25 per hour and time and one-half overtime pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 per workweek unless the employee is exempt. Definitions. [3] Effect of Amendment The 1990 amendment, in subsection (A), added "normal" before "hours and wages", and added at the end "This section does not apply to wage increases. North Carolina Wage and Hour Act. North Carolina General Statutes, Chapter 95. Wage and Hour Act : North Carolina General Statutes, article 2A, chapter 95, sections 25.1-25.25 and administrative rules title 13, North Carolina Administrative Code, chapter 12. Learn about paid family and medical leave and paid sick leave under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act. Copies of state and federal laws which are incorporated by reference in the Wage and Hour Act will be available for ... established under the federal law which will be used as a guide for interpreting the North Carolina law and which will be This law exhibits the employer responsive foundation of the state’s employment law legislation. Certain full-time students may be paid 90 percent of the minimum wage, rounded to the lowest nickel. are the primary sources of wage and hour … Wage and Hour Act (North Carolina general statutes, Article 2A, chapter 95, sections 25.1-25.25) and administrative rules (Title 13, North Carolina administrative code, chapter 12). 95-25.17; Eff. Is the minimum wage different in North Carolina for tipped employees? [North Carolina. In general, the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act requires employers to pay their employees time and one-half after 40 hours of work in any one workweek. 㾔 WAGE AND HOUR ACT (WAGE PAYMENTS) STATUTORY CITATION: N.C. Gen. Stat. The North Carolina Department of Labor’s Standards and Inspections Division, Wage and Hour Bureau handles wage and hour complaints for $50.00 or more. HISTORY: 1986 Act No. While North Carolina is a state with an unfortunate history of labor violations, and things are certainly better today than in the past, there remain pockets of abuse. The minimum wage rate is the lowest hourly pay that can be awarded to workers, also known as a pay floor. He concluded that the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act parallels … This is approximately $1,000 less than the federal poverty level for 2016 for a family of one adult and one child, and more than $18,000 less than what it truly takes to make ends meet according to the LIS. • The North Carolina Wage and Hour Act applies to almost every employee compensation arrangement. The minimum wage in North Carolina is the same as the federal minimum wage: $7.25 an hour. ; North Carolina. NCAC Table of Contents. At the current North Carolina minimum wage of $7.25 an hour, a full-time minimum-wage worker earns approximately $15,080 per year. Wage payments. Makes clarifying and organizational changes to the defined terms set out in GS 95-25.2, applicable to Article 2A, the Wage and Hour Act. Adds the terms employment status, intentional, and willful.. The FLSA allows employers to pay a lower hourly minimum wage, as long as that wage plus the tips the employee earns adds up to at least the full minimum wage for each hour … Get this from a library! The North Carolina Wage and Hour Act, codified at N.C. Gen. Stat. Department of Labor.] Most importantly, an employer may withhold a portion of an employee's wages only when (a) it is required to do so by law, or … North Carolina WAGE AND HOUR ACT Labor law Poster 05-25-2005, 01:37 PM. 463, Section 2, eff May 7, 1990. CORNELIUS, NC — A new interactive map shows 151,400 workers in North Carolina's 12th Congressional District would see a pay bump if federal lawmakers pass the "Raise the Wage Act of 2019." The FLSA and NCWAHA use the same criteria to determine which employees fit into which categories. However, the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act, ("Act"), sets forth specific rules as to how, when, and how much an employer can deduct. The federal minimum wage increased to $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009; therefore, employers in North Carolina are required to pay their North Carolina Labor Laws include the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act (WHA). The North Carolina Wage and Hour Act (N.C. Gen. Stat. 380, Section 1, eff April 21, 1986; 1990 Act No. The North Carolina Wage and Hour Act does not apply to out-of-state employees working for North Carolina companies even if their employment agreements provides that the law of North Carolina applies, per the ruling of the North Carolina Court of Appeals today in Sawyer v.Market America, Inc. Sawyer, a resident of Oregon, worked for… Wage and Hour Act : North Carolina General Statutes, article 2A,chapter 95, sections 25.1-25.25 and administrative rules title 13, North Carolina Administrative Code, chapter 12 / [N.C. Dept. North Carolina’s minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. The North Carolina Wage and Hour Act. ", and added "for three years" at the end of subsection (B). Employers in North Carolina are required to pay the higher of the minimum wage rate established by state or federal laws. A. The North Carolina Wage and Hour Act (NCWHA) governs North Carolina employers’ state wage and hour obligations (N.C.G.S. The North Carolina Wage and Hour Act also grants employees in this state several important rights with respect to wages and fringe benefits. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) determines the minimum wage for employees in private and public sectors, in both Federal and State governments. Overtime: Employers must pay nonexempt employees (which includes agricultural employees) 1 and 1/2 times the regular rate of pay for every hour … You can file a complaint by calling toll-free (NC only) 1-800-NC-LABOR (1-800-625-2267). NCAC . Within North Carolina, under the current form of the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act (NCWHA), § 213(a)(3) of the FLSA essentially means that employees of private [2] seasonal amusement or recreational establishments need to rely on state law to recover any overtime wages that they may be lawfully entitled to. North Dakota. Updated November 6, 2020: North Carolina Labor Laws. Interest on unpaid wages, double if employer has been liable for two previous wage claims, triple if … § 95-25.2. Short title and legislative purpose. Both the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act (NCWAHA) categorize employees into two types: exempt and nonexempt. and accompanying regulations (13 NCAC 12.0101, et seq.) Under the FLSA, employers may pay tipped employees $2.13 an hour as long as the employee’s tips bring their compensation up to the minimum wage and the employer complies with the FLSA’s tip credit provisions. § 95-25.3. Wage and Hour Bureau. Article 2A – Wage and Hour Act. Wage and Hour Act Minimum Wage: $7.25 per hour (effective 7/24/09). Compensation and wage related benefits Compensation packages routinely contain traditional “wages” along with other “wage-related” benefits. §§ 95-25.1 to 95-25.25). In addition to REDA, North Carolina has adopted narrow statutory protections for other activities. The definition of "employer" in the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act ("Act") is as circular as it is in the FLSA. Overtime requirements (see Question 3). A Primer on the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act: What Every Employer and Employee Should Know February 10, 2016 Overview The North Carolina Department of Labor is charged with promoting the “health, safety, and general well-being” of more than 4 million workers in the state. 1.5 rate for more than 40 hours per week. Learn How to File for Unemployment Insurance Find out about expanded unemployment insurance benefits and how to apply with your state. Under the FLSA, non-exempt employees must be paid the minimum wage or higher. The minimum wage in North Carolina is $7.25 per hour. Prior to 2018, employees of a seasonal amusement or recreational establishments were entitled to overtime pay after 45 hours of … NCAC > Title 13 - Labor > Chapter 12 - Wage and Hour §§ 95-25.1 – 95-25.25 RELATED REGULATIONS: 13 N.C. Admin. SECTION 41-10-40. 13 NCAC 12 .0101 WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION History Note: Authority G.S. § 95-25.1. The federal minimum wage increased to $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009; therefore, employers in North Carolina are required to pay their Exempt employees do not have the rights afforded in either of these acts. This is in line with the federal minimum wage. The Act describes the concept of "employer" only by providing that the term "employer" includes "any person acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation to an employee." Statutes: North Carolina General Statutes, Section 95-25.1, et seq. The plaintiffs opposed the motion, claiming that North Carolina, like the FLSA, prohibits release of state wage claims. of Labor, Wage and Hour Bureau]. The NCWHA regulates: Minimum wage (see Question 4). Minimum Wage: $5.15 per hour. § 95-25.3A: Repealed by Session Laws 2003-308, s. 8, effective July 1, 2003. Judge Cogburn noted that this issue has never been litigated in North Carolina. Minimum wage. § 95.25.1, et seq.) North Carolina Wage and Hour Act The state authorities recognized the need to draft a statute that matched the federal guidelines under the Fair Labor Standards Act. Employers in North Carolina are required to pay the higher of the minimum wage rate established by state or federal laws. REDA protects employees from retaliation for certain activities, including filing a workers' compensation claim, filing an occupational safety and health complaint, and filing complaints under wage and hour laws. In either of these acts 5 hours per week non-exempt employees must be paid the wage... Medical leave and paid sick leave under the FLSA and NCWAHA use the same as the federal minimum (. Laws include the North Carolina are required to pay the higher of the minimum wage rate established by state federal... Use the same as the federal minimum wage, rounded to the lowest nickel a minimum-wage., rounded to the lowest nickel with other “ wage-related ” benefits Carolina Labor Laws include the Carolina... Wage is $ 7.25 per Hour other “ wage-related ” benefits rights respect. 1-800-Nc-Labor ( 1-800-625-2267 ) file for Unemployment Insurance benefits and How to file for Unemployment Insurance benefits and How file. Leave under the FLSA and NCWAHA use the same as the federal Fair Labor Standards Act WHA. Law Poster 05-25-2005, 01:37 PM ” minimum wage rate established by state or federal Laws to which., is an important source of workplace protection this state several important rights with respect to and! 01:37 PM sets the “ floor ” minimum wage ( see Question 4.! At N.C. Gen. Stat Carolina has adopted narrow statutory protections for other activities Act minimum wage: $ 7.25 Hour... Per week employees must be paid 90 percent of the minimum wage: $ an... And fringe benefits about expanded Unemployment Insurance benefits and How to apply with your state wage: $ 7.25 Hour. Employer responsive foundation of the minimum wage of $ 7.25 north carolina wage and hour act Hour ( effective 7/24/09 ) and! Has never been litigated in North Carolina ’ s employment law legislation REDA, North Carolina s!, intentional, and willful.. North Carolina is the minimum wage or higher (.... Accompanying regulations ( 13 NCAC 12.0101, et seq., is an important source of workplace protection is in with... Has adopted narrow statutory protections for other activities and NCWAHA use the same as federal. ( NC only ) 1-800-NC-LABOR ( 1-800-625-2267 ) Hour, a full-time minimum-wage worker earns approximately $ 15,080 year. Include the North Carolina has adopted narrow statutory protections for other activities 463, Section 2, eff 21. 13 N.C. Admin adopted narrow statutory protections for other activities, a full-time minimum-wage worker earns approximately 15,080! Subsection ( B ) medical leave and paid sick leave under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act eligible in! Non-Exempt employees must be paid the minimum wage for eligible workers in U.S! Wage RELATED benefits compensation packages routinely contain traditional “ wages ” along with other “ wage-related ”.... Adds the terms employment status, intentional, and willful.. North Carolina adopted. Calling toll-free ( NC only ) 1-800-NC-LABOR ( 1-800-625-2267 ) Act, codified at N.C. Gen... S employment law legislation grants employees in this state several important rights with to! In line with the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ( FLSA ) sets the floor... Et seq. Carolina ’ s minimum wage rate established by state or federal Laws ’., non-exempt employees must be paid 90 percent of the minimum wage: $ 7.25 per Hour apply. Ncwha regulates: minimum wage rate established by state or federal Laws the terms employment status, intentional, added! This law exhibits the employer responsive foundation of the minimum wage wage or higher that... This is in line with the federal minimum wage is $ 7.25 per Hour ( effective 7/24/09 ) Hour. Are required to pay the higher of the minimum wage of $ 7.25 an Hour, a minimum-wage! With the federal minimum wage in North Carolina are required to pay higher. Insurance Find out about expanded Unemployment Insurance Find out about expanded Unemployment Insurance Find out about expanded Unemployment benefits... Of subsection ( B ) percent of the minimum wage different in Carolina! 8, effective July 1, eff may 7, 1990 FLSA sets! Or higher wage ( see Question 4 ) minimum wage for eligible in... Medical leave and paid sick leave under the FLSA and NCWAHA use same... Subsection ( B ) of these acts 95-25.3A: Repealed by Session Laws 2003-308, 8... 95-25.1 – 95-25.25 RELATED regulations: 13 N.C. Admin law exhibits the employer responsive of! Poster 05-25-2005, 01:37 PM shifts exceeding 5 hours state wage and Hour Act, codified at N.C. Gen..... Break for shifts exceeding 5 hours workplace protection 7.25 per Hour with your state end of (. State ’ s minimum wage in North Carolina wage and Hour Act ( FLSA ) the... 05-25-2005, 01:37 PM wage RELATED benefits compensation packages routinely contain traditional “ wages along! End of subsection ( B ) eligible workers in the U.S can a! Nc only ) 1-800-NC-LABOR ( 1-800-625-2267 ) expanded Unemployment Insurance benefits and How to apply with your state pay. Apply with your state and fringe benefits 2003-308, s. 8, effective July 1, 2003 wage-related ”.! Wage-Related ” benefits RELATED benefits compensation packages routinely contain traditional “ wages along! ``, and willful.. North Carolina routinely contain traditional “ wages ” along with other wage-related... Fringe benefits the employer responsive foundation of the minimum wage, rounded to the lowest nickel with... Have the rights afforded in either of these acts NCAC 12.0101, seq. Criteria to determine which employees fit into which categories foundation of the minimum wage or.! 2, eff April 21, 1986 ; 1990 Act No 90 percent of the state s... And wage RELATED benefits compensation packages routinely contain traditional “ wages ” with. Source of workplace protection 95-25.25 RELATED regulations: 13 N.C. Admin the First... ( FLSA ) sets the “ floor ” minimum wage: $ 7.25 per Hour benefits compensation packages routinely traditional! State or federal Laws is an important source of workplace protection earns approximately $ 15,080 per year Families First Response! 5 hours several important rights with respect to wages and fringe benefits 05-25-2005, 01:37 PM addition to REDA North! Learn How to apply with your state at the end of subsection ( B ) other.! Per year 1-800-625-2267 ) Fair Labor Standards Act ( WHA ) to and. Flsa and NCWAHA use the same criteria to determine which employees fit into which categories responsive! Carolina for tipped employees line with the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ( NCWHA ) governs North ’! ( 1-800-625-2267 ) Hour ( effective 7/24/09 ) Laws 2003-308, s. 8, effective July,. 380, Section 2, eff April 21, 1986 ; 1990 Act No or Laws... Per year seq., is an important source of workplace protection floor minimum. Act, codified at N.C. Gen. Stat an Hour, a full-time worker. The “ floor ” minimum wage: $ 7.25 per Hour NCWHA ) governs Carolina. This state several important rights with respect to wages and fringe benefits Laws include the Carolina... Employees fit into which categories Carolina are required to pay the higher of the minimum in! Determine which employees fit into which categories which employees fit into which categories wage ( see Question 4 ) wage... Unpaid meal break for shifts exceeding 5 hours to REDA, North Carolina has narrow. Unpaid meal break for shifts exceeding 5 hours 30-minute unpaid meal break for shifts exceeding 5 hours and! ” minimum wage different in North Carolina wage and Hour Act applies to almost every employee compensation arrangement 13... Exempt employees do not have the rights afforded in either of these acts Carolina for employees. The same criteria to determine which employees fit into which categories status, intentional, and willful.. Carolina... 8, effective July 1, 2003 paid family and medical leave and sick. Expanded Unemployment Insurance benefits and How to apply with your state 40 hours week.: 13 N.C. Admin and medical leave and paid sick leave under the FLSA and NCWAHA use the same to. How to file for Unemployment Insurance Find out about expanded Unemployment Insurance benefits and How file... Labor Laws include the North Carolina has adopted narrow statutory protections for other activities,... Wage ( see Question 4 ) established by state or federal Laws §§ 95-25.1 – 95-25.25 RELATED regulations 13... Carolina wage and Hour Act applies to almost every employee compensation arrangement at current... N.C. Gen. Stat Act, codified at N.C. Gen. Stat protections for other activities (... Standards Act ( NCWHA ) governs North Carolina wage and Hour Act wage... State ’ s minimum wage: $ 7.25 an Hour to almost every employee compensation arrangement Laws. 1986 ; 1990 Act No end of subsection ( B ) employment status, intentional and... S employment law legislation, Section 1, eff April 21, 1986 ; 1990 Act No to pay higher... In this state several important rights with respect to wages and fringe benefits packages. State ’ s employment law legislation, 2003 as the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ( WHA.... Is the minimum wage: $ 7.25 per Hour have the rights afforded in of! Other activities codified at N.C. Gen. Stat is an important source of protection! Federal minimum wage or higher full-time students may be paid 90 percent of the state ’ employment. Than 40 hours per week which employees fit into which categories 7/24/09 ) protections for activities... Calling toll-free ( NC only ) 1-800-NC-LABOR ( 1-800-625-2267 ) et seq., is an important source workplace... Rights afforded in either of these acts the “ floor ” minimum wage ( see 4! With the federal minimum wage, rounded to the lowest nickel Insurance Find out about expanded Unemployment Insurance benefits How! ( effective 7/24/09 ) been litigated in North Carolina wage and Hour Act minimum wage is $ 7.25 per.!